Happy Gardening

IMG_20160405_111419

My parents didn’t garden when I was growing up and as I got older I mostly lived in apartments in a city centre so I never had gardens then either. But my grandma gardened and I must have inherited the gardening gene from her. I got into gardening a few years ago. As a new gardener I’ve had my shares of issues and success. I’m getting good at it though and I am very excited about my garden this year.

The owner of the park agreed to build raised garden beds in the sunniest place in the park and then fenced it for deer and rabbits . He provided all the soil for filling the beds and whoever wants can plant in it!

IMG_20160405_111747

So far I’ve planted peas, lettuce, cucumbers, beans, beets, spinach, broccoli, carrots, garlic, radishes and potatoes. I’ll be adding corn, tomatoes, onions, zucchini and peppers.

I’m very grateful I live in a place with such kindness and that I have an opportunity to focus my energy on something positive and healthy!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Gardening

Leave a Reply

