The five stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. Each person goes through them at their own pace.

  • Denial: “This is not happening to me. It’s all a misunderstanding. It’s just a midlife crisis. We can work it out.”
  • Anger and resentment: “How can he [she] do this to me? What did I ever do to deserve this? This is not fair!”
  • Bargaining: “If you’ll stay, I’ll change” or “If I agree to do it your way, can we get back together?”
  • Depression: “This is really happening, I can’t do anything about it, and I don’t think I can bear it.”
  • Acceptance: “Okay, this is how it is, and I’d rather accept it and move on than wallow in the past.”

Two nights ago we argued. I realize from that conversation there is no more bargaining. And now I am feeling the super sadness of depression settle in. I’m sad my marriage is over. I’m sad I was the primary reason. I’m sad that it looks like we won’t be able to get it back. I’m sad that we may even lose the friendship.

And I don’t know what to do with all this sadness.



9 thoughts on “Grieving

  1. Although the pain will never totally go away, it will diminish over time. Grieve your loss, learn from it, then move on. I truely hope you you start to feel a little better soon and your life gets back on track. Keep the faith and believe that your life will get better. It may take a bit of time, but it will.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just to clarify something I said. When I said “keep the faith” I was meaning for you to believe that things will get better. There was not any religius overtones intended. Just say🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s