Hug Therapy

It was my dad who taught me how to give a great hug. So many times I was sad and he just grabbed me and held tight. He’s known for them. I’m known for great hugs, too! I blame him 🙂

I’m quick to hug people. I think it is the reaching out that makes it mentally okay. However, I cringe when someone tries to hug me if it isn’t initiated by me. I think this is  because when I need a hug the most is also when I am having high anxiety issues. Hugging, touch in general, isn’t a great way to help when I am in anxiety.

Even when I struggle through an uninvited hug I still love hugs.

With Paul? Hugs are a wonderful part of building intimacy.

Every day we take time for a hug. Not just any hug, but a purposeful one. Our heights are such  that my arms go around his neck and his around my waist. After a few moments of just holding each other tight? He lifts me a bit and it stretches my back. When he sets me down we spend a few more moments rubbing each others hands over each others backs. We gently massage the aching muscles  and scratch each other’s itchy spots. Sometimes there is kissing involved on each others necks. Always we tell each other we love the other.

Hugs sustain me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

