Possessions

back pack

I can’t say I have ever been a person tied to possessions. I’ve had things that were important to me but I have also given up everything I own on more than one occasion.

When I left Manitoba? I took very little with me. When I left Alberta? Paul and each carried about 70lbs on our packs. That included clothing, shelter and food. We left behind everything we could not carry on our backs.

Giving up my possessions of my own volition is one thing.

When I lived in the forest and was taken by authorities? THEY took everything we owned down to our underwear. They held it until our court situation was resolved. We were certain all of those things were gone forever.

During Paul’s court situation? His lawyer got the court to agree to give back all our belongings. They gave him 90 days from release to retrieve it.

AND- we were blessed to have a local friend who already needed to go to Alberta and get things of his own. They drove down together and got our possessions from the government storage. There was too much stuff, between the two of them, to bring it all back but they were able to rent reasonable storage space for all of their things until they can arrange to bring it back.

So what does this mean?

Well, Paul did bring back his bike. He has transportation now. That is a huge thing. And it is HIS bike. The Kona he built from parts over years. It’s his baby and I’m so happy never to hear him lament it’s loss again.

When we do bring back the rest? We have tools! We have our outfitter tent, not for camping but could be used to live in again if that ever became necessary. It has a woodstove that we got back with it. We have Paul’s dad’s chair. That’s special to him.

The rest? While it’s not things we need anymore we have items that are practically brand new, of high value, that we can sell to help build our nest egg or buy a car. A giant steel building still in it’s packing straps because we never set it up. A portable sawmill. Solar panels and solar powered freezer.

Our vehicle? Wasn’t running and couldn’t be brought back but the officers said they would hold it and look around for a place to donate it for a tax receipt instead of just disposing of it. (which they did, Canadian Cancer Society took it)

Possessions have never really been of great importance to me. Tonight, as I ponder this, I am very grateful for this return of possessions that was unexpected. I am grateful to the kind friend who was willing to help us get them and secure them. I’m grateful to the officers in Alberta who came in overtime on a weekend to ensure we could get our things. I’m grateful Paul has his means of transport back. So much gratitude for possessions.

Leave a Reply

